2023 BC High School Boys Volleyball Season Has Begun

Sahali setting in recent match

Sahali in recent match at UFV tournament. PHOTO: PAUL FUNK

After the first weekend of exhibition tournament play, these are the top 10 teams from each tier for Sr. Boys High School Volleyball teams in the province. The abbreviation for the provincial zone is in parentheses.

NW = Northwest, NC = North Central, KT = Kootenays, TOK = Thompson-Okanagan, EV = Eastern Fraser Valley, FN = Fraser North, V2S = Vancouver Sea-to-Sky, SF = South Fraser, VI = Vancouver Island
As these are a limited sample set, we can expect significant change in the rankings from week to week over the early part of the season.
Tier A – the co-host of this year’s provincial championship opens in the #1 spot
1 Vancouver Chr. (VS2S)
2 Cedars Chr. (NC)
3 Credo Chr. (SF)
4 Unity Chr. (EV)
5 Vernon Chr. (TOK)
6 Duncan Chr. (VI)
7 Nanaimo Chr. (VI)
8 Houston Chr. (NW)
9 Bulkley Valley Chr. (NW)
10 Hazelton (NW)


Ecole Jules Verne (VS2S)
Gidgalang Kuuyas Naay (NW)
Tier AA – A familiar top-3 of teams from the Eastern Valley Zone
1 Langley Chr. (EV)
2 Abbotsford Chr. (EV)
3 MEI (EV)
4 South Kamloops(OK)
5 Duchess Park (NC)
6 Mark Isfeld (VI)
7 Victoria High (VI)
8 Surrey Christian (SF)
9 Kalamalka(OK)
10 Langley Fund (EV)


Lambrick Park (VI)
DP Todd (NC)

Tier AAA – two time defending champs Kelowna start their quest for a three-peat in the number 1 position. No team has won three in a row in AAA over the past 40 years.

1 Kelowna (TOK)
2 Kitsilano (V2S)
3 Claremont (VI)
4 Dover Bay (VI)
5 Fraser Heights (SF)
6 Reynolds (VI)
7 Yale (EV)
8 McMath (SF)
9 Oak Bay (VI)
10 Walnut Grove (SF)


New West (FN)
GW Graham (EV)

Since the separation of schools into two (now three) size-based Tiers in 1976, the schools with the most championship banners are

4 – Earl MarriottKLO (now a middle school), MissionOak Bay HighSemiahmoo,
3 – Penticton, Prince George
2 – Centennial, LV Rogers, Mt. Douglas
No AAA school has won three in a row. Eight schools have won back to back:  Kelowna, Earl Marriott (twice), Semiahmoo, Oak Bay, KLO, Centennial, and Mt. Douglas
11 – MEI
5 – Lambrick Park
4 – Ashcroft, Langley Christian, Mt. Sentinel
2 – Duchess Park, Fraser Valley Christian (now Surrey Christian), Max Cameron,
MEI won 5 in a row from 2005-2009


Al Carmichael,Oak Bay High School

Author: Dean Weiss

Share This Post On